Skip to content

Here are the countries where we can really travel from June 9

Will we be able to travel to the United States this year? Will it be possible to climb the Burj Khalifa tower in Dubai in July? Or to enjoy the beaches of Tunisia this summer? Since we know the date for the reopening of the borders of the European Union, set for June 9, most tourists are wondering whether they will be able to go to their vacation spot. In reality, this choice depends on several factors, depending on whether you are vaccinated or not, and depending on the local rules applied by each destination.

First novelty, from June 9, vaccinated people will no longer need to present a “compelling reason” to go beyond the borders of Europe. This means that long-haul travel will again be possible for those who have received two doses of the vaccine. Unless the health situation deteriorates by then, the Seychelles, Tunisia, Dubai, Mexico, Costa Rica, Peru and the Dominican Republic are in good position to receive their first tourists in June. For its part, Thailand will open to international visitors from July 1.

Vaccinated travelers will be able to travel to these countries while respecting local health constraints, since PCR tests may be required before boarding or upon arrival at the airport. Is tourist activity totally revived for all that? Not really. Because despite this progress, many destinations are still inaccessible to French tourists. This is notably the case of South Africa, Costa Rica, Brazil, India, Chile and Turkey. These countries are classified as “red” by the government, which means that the virus and its variants are actively circulating there. It is therefore not possible to get there.

>> Our service – Book your hotel at the best price worldwide while guaranteeing a better margin to the hotelier

Countries accessible from June 9

  • For vaccinated people: Seychelles, Tunisia, Egypt, Israel, Dubai, Mexico, Lebanon, Peru, Dominican Republic…
  • For unvaccinated people: European Union, Albania, Macedonia, Mexico…
  • Countries still inaccessible: South Africa, Australia, Argentina, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, United States, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Turkey, Uruguay…

Conversely, other countries are experiencing moderate circulation of the virus, but have chosen to refuse the arrival of foreign tourists for the moment. This is the case of the United States, but also of Japan, Australia and Canada.

Second novelty: vaccinated people who plan to travel to one of the countries of the European Union from June 9 will not need to carry out a PCR test before returning to France. Only a test will have to be carried out before departure on vacation, if the country of destination requires it.

A map of the countries where the virus is circulating

To see more clearly, the government published, on Friday June 4, a ranking of countries according to their health situation. In this document, countries are classified according to the degree of circulation of the virus on their territory. “Green” countries, including the European Union, Japan and Australia, correspond to destinations where the virus is not actively circulating. Conversely, “red” countries are considered to be of concern, due to active circulation of the virus or the presence of a variant. This is notably the case of India, Brazil and Turkey. Finally, the other countries are classified in “orange”, that is to say as areas where the virus circulates “in controlled proportions”.

Government (Prime Minister)

In reality, this color code will not be of much use to you in choosing your next vacation destination. With the exception of the countries classified in “red”, the other colors do not necessarily mean that it is possible to go there. This is particularly the case for Japan and Australia: even classified as “green”, these countries do not currently accept tourists. This paradox is explained by the sovereignty that each country exercises over the arrival of foreign tourists.

What if I am not vaccinated?

For unvaccinated people, the situation is much less encouraging. As of June 9, they will not be able to travel outside the borders of Europe without presenting a compelling reason. Unfortunately for those who have not yet received two doses of the vaccine, tourism is not part of the derogatory criteria for travel. The latter will therefore have to fall back on stays in France or in countries that accept unvaccinated French tourists (Spain, Greece, Mexico, etc.).

However, the situation is not fixed. June 9 is just a milestone in the government’s border reopening strategy. The implementation of the health pass, available at the beginning of July, should facilitate international travel, even for unvaccinated people. It is also possible to imagine that countries which today refuse access to their country open their borders this summer. The United States, in particular, is scrutinized by French tourists.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.