Skip to content

where can we go for summer vacation? Travel rules

From PCR tests to the total ban on entry into the territory, via the vaccination certificate, to cross a border this summer, you will have to make sure you are well informed.

After travel restrictions, the measures to curb the Covid-19 epidemic have gradually been lifted in recent weeks in France. The curfew, in place since October and recently extended to 11 p.m., will finally be lifted this Sunday, as the summer vacation approaches.

It will therefore be possible to move freely in France during the summer holidays, but can we already plan stays overseas or abroad? Here are the current rules.

· Traveling to overseas territories

What are the rules for getting there? “Concerning air transport to the Overseas Territories, the PCR test within 72 hours before boarding is an obligation”, warns the government site, specifying that it is an “essential protection to prevent the circulation of variants on our territories”, one way or the other.

Conditions then vary somewhat between territories. It is impossible to plan a holiday there immediately in most cases: with the exception of Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon and New Caledonia, you must provide proof of a compelling reason to go there. In Guadeloupe or Mayotte, it is thus necessary to respect a “strict septaine” of isolation on arrival. The specificities for each zone are specified on the Government website.

What health situation? While almost all metropolitan departments have fallen below the 50 incidence mark, the former “alert threshold” set by the authorities, Reunion has a rate of 125, Guyana a rate of 296. Restrictions have moreover, have recently been reinstated in the latter territory.

· Traveling within the European Union

What are the rules for getting there? “To travel to Europe, it is not necessary to justify the reason for his trip, but prior test obligations are however necessary”, explains the executive. Note that “from July 1, the health pass will be recognized for internal travel in the European area, in the form of a European certificate”. This certificate may include: “proof of vaccination, a negative test result or proof of recovery from Covid less than 6 months old”.

But beyond this common agreement, “States may also establish additional health measures if they are necessary and proportionate”. They can be found in the “Advice to travelers” section of the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

In the meantime, if the rules for entering Spain are already those of the health pass, in Italy, “in the current state of the regulations, vaccination or being cured of Covid does not exempt you from carrying out the test. “, explains the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

To go to Germany currently, there is an obligation to “declare yourself electronically on the official German site” before entering the territory, otherwise you risk being turned back at the entrance. In addition, a ten-day quarantine is planned, which can however be lifted “upon presentation of a negative test or a certificate of vaccination or recovery”.

What health situation? According to the classification put in place by France, all the countries of the European Union are currently in the green zone, where there is “no active circulation of the virus, no worrying variants identified”.

· Traveling outside the European Union

France, like almost all countries, has established a classification of foreign states according to the circulation of the virus on the spot: they are classified green if there is neither active circulation of the virus, nor identified variants of concern; orange if there is active circulation of the virus but “in controlled proportions”, without dissemination of worrying variants; red in case of active circulation with worrying variants.

Countries classified as “green”. Besides those of the EU, Australia, South Korea, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand and Singapore are part of this list. For people coming from these territories, only a PCR test of less than 72 hours is required on arrival in France, except for fully vaccinated people who are exempt from it.

To get there, however, as in the EU, it is the host country that sets its conditions, and few French people will be able to access it this summer. Thus, “the external borders of Australia remain closed until further notice for travelers from abroad”, underlines France Diplomatie.

The same rules are currently in place in New Zealand, Japan and Singapore. Entry into the United States is very limitedas in Israel, where she is subject obtaining permission that only “first-degree relatives of an Israeli citizen or resident of Israel” can apply for.

Countries classified as “orange”. Russia, countries in the Middle East, Central America and the African continent make up this list. Their nationals must, to enter France, present a negative PCR test of less than 72 hours, take an antigen test on arrival and isolate themselves for 7 days, unless they present a complete vaccination schedule.

To leave France for one of these countries, France requires a compelling reason, unless you are vaccinated. But upon arrival, states also have their own rules for welcoming travelers. Thus, the borders of Russia, like China, are closed, and to go to Algeria from France, it is only possible, for the moment, to use the airways, with only a partial resumption of connections. It is also necessary to present a negative test of less than 36 hours on boarding and once arrived on site, to isolate oneself for 5 days “in a hotel provided for this purpose, at the expense of the traveler”.

For the UK, a test of less than 72 hours is required, as well as a 10-day quarantine, during which at least two new PCR tests will be taken. “If one of the two tests is positive, a new period of isolation of 10 days will have to be taken”. On the Mexican side, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs advises “to postpone until further notice all non-essential travel” to this country.

Countries classified as “red”. “It is strongly recommended not to travel to countries classified as ‘red’ for health reasons: Afghanistan, South Africa, Argentina, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Paraguay, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Uruguay,” writes the Foreign Ministry.

It is important to remember that the health situation in the world is very changing and that each State can decide to modify its reception rules at any time. It is therefore important to regularly refer to the information given, and updated, by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs or on the websites of the embassies, whether concerning the conditions of entry into the territory, or the health rules to be observed on square.

Salome Vincendon BFMTV journalist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.